Mental Support Community

Over-Eater

genesis

I stepped on the scale this morning, looked down at those beady red numbers, and thought I was going to die. :eek:

I've spent the past three/four weeks excersing 'lightly' (e.g. sit-ups, crunches, push-ups, etc). I suppose that the gain could have to do with increased muscle mass but I'm doubting it. :)

I've always been heavy so I look at myself in the mirror and try to remember why I keep trying. Added factors is that I'm depressed, and thusly extremely tired nine days out of ten, and I like to cook and bake - so I eat. :)

And I don't know how to stop. Or cut back. The more I think about those numbers on the scale the more I panic and want to curl up in a ball and cry. I've tried diets, I've tried diet pills. Nothing works.

At nineteen, I should weigh 120 to 140. I passed 200 when I was a freshman in high school. :eek:

Any tips, suggestions, advice, etc?

-Genesis

I have a suggestion. Dont use scales so often. Maybe every two weeks, once a weeks at the most. Scales make you feel bad, you have to remeber that it isnt all fat, you have to take your whole body into consideration. A good way to give you a better idea of how well you are doing is to buy a pair of jeans in the size you aspire to be (take it step by step), you know wether you are losing or gaining by how well you fit into them, it will make you feel great when you can fit into them properly. Then you will know that that extra weight is just those muscles youve been building up :) I know it doesnt help you with losing weight but its stops those scales bringing you down :) Good luck!