Mental Support Community

27 and as pure as the driven snow.

Release

Hello, as with most people here I am just looking for some perspective on my present situation.

First I figured I should tell everyone a little bit about myself. I am 27 years old. I suppose you could call me generally successful. I am a college graduate from a good school, I am working in an interesting job that pays me about three times what most guys my age are making, own a car, and have been living independently since I graduated. I have great siblings, am an uncle, and have a solid group of friends, though only a select few know anything about me in this regard.

I am a virgin, and it bothers me. As you might expect I've pit a lot of time into analyzing why this is so. I find myself at an interesting cross roads in my life, I have done a lot to try and solve this issue physically. One year ago I was easily 100lbs overweight. I lost 65 lbs so far this year and am a mere 32 lbs from my goal weight. This has done a lot for my confidence and comfort level around women, but unfortunately there are some things I just can't shake, some feelings that persist in my mind. My bodies changed but my mind isn't healthy.

I was overweight from the age of 12 to 26. Rather important years in term of social development. I took a lot of shit to say the least from lots of people. I was bullied often ad teased, mostly verbally but took a beating now and then, I started school early so I was a bit smaller than my class most of the time. Now I'm six foot four so it's not a problem these days. I was actually taken to see a therapist to try and help me deal with the bullying after one particularly bad incident which left me pretty banged up and averse to the idea of going to school ever again. It didn't help much.