Mental Support Community

Is there such a thing as fear of frustration?

Guest ChinaDoll

Guest ChinaDoll

I recently started playing this online game to distract myself from negative thoughts (anxiety disorder, ptsd) and having something else to think about other than the usual chicken little crap I think about has given me a huge break from my fears. Now here I am at the stage where leveling up is harder and I go on their forum to see what can be done. I am confonted with a huge pile of information that must be digested and carried out. The thought that I have a huge pile of work ahead of me and the possibility of being frustrated if it ends in failure, makes me not want to do it at all. "Screw that, I'll just do whatever to kill the time."

I'm trying to figure out what this is. Could it be related to the fact that I was a perfectionist? I say I was because I am now trying to stop being one because it recently led me to put too much pressure on myself and made me crumble from the inside out.

So what do you guys think? Is this fear to invest too much effort some form of anxiety?

Guest ChinaDoll

Oh, I forgot to say that the reason why I'm curious about this is because in a few days, I will be starting a new life which means a new job, etc. It worries me that I might not be able to do my job well because of this fear. It inhibits me from becoming my best and I don't want that. On the other hand, I also don't want to feel frustrated ever again.

How does one deal with frustration anyway? I seem to be extremely terrible at it.

Frustration is a tough one. I try to remember to stay with myself, but that can be challenging at times. If I am feeling frustrated, I might start by taking a few deep breaths and then talk to myself gently. Do you have an inner encouraging voice?