Mental Support Community

Meditation

whatever

I'm pretty new in meditation, ive been doing it for a week now.

I didn't experience much benefits still but im just begining, i feel some joy after each session and it is addictive. My technique is that i sit on chair with straight back and concentrate on breath, on air that is going through my nostrils, im only doing it for five minutes a day but i will increase time later on.

Does anybody here meditate?

I will keep posting results!

When I meditate, at first I focus on my breathing and try to relax my entire body. Once I feel completely relaxed, I often use positive imagery. I find it helps to relieve tension and stress. I read one study that showed how meditation can actually create new connections in our brains. I hope you find it healing.

Edited by IrmaJean
can't type too well

• 3 weeks later...

K meditated regularly. I can’t speak for him, but I know he found it very beneficial.

I have also watched a TED talk about the many benefits of meditation. Changes can actually take place in the brain. Maybe I could find the link for that.

Anxiety can serve a purpose, true. It can also become a learned response to certain situations. I know that one too well... I think too it can be based on irrational fears.

Could you elaborate on what you mean by being too calm?

@Beth; I am motivated primarily to do things by fear/anxiety. For example, if I have a psychologists appointment I am terrified so that fear wakes me up, gets me out of bed and into the waiting room (which I hate). Having these anxious thoughts (which have become a way of life for me) is almost an acceptance of them. What happens when I meditate is they seem to get moved to the background, and only appear in anxious situations, but since I'm not used to them anymore they feel much worse. So I'm kind of unsure about meditating again.

Nice article! Even a subtle allusion to determinism in there?