Mental Support Community

Lost & Stressed Student

heijou

Where can I start... I am a 20 year old uni student and I've had depression & anxiety (though I'm positive there's more to my mental health issues than that) throughout high school but didn't talk to someone about it and get treatment until about 3 years ago. I'm doing better than I did but I still have a while to go.

I had a great year last year — I completed a diploma in something I enjoyed doing (web design-type of stuff) and almost rarely felt crap about myself, so I decided to continue down the web design path and enrolled into a bachelor which I've started this year, and it's all downhill from here. I'm only half-way through my first semester now and I'm already feeling overwhelmed & had panic attacks & thoughts about dropping out on several occasions; thankfully no dangerous/harmful thoughts yet. I'm not sure if this is healthy or normal to feel stressed to such a great extent, but I feel silly for feeling this way...
Not sure if this info is vital but might I add that I'm studying with a university from another state in my country through a partnership with the "college" I did my diploma at, and because the partnership between the two institutions is quite new, I've been finding it difficult to find on the uni website all the info/support I'd need to deal with this in my campus. Tried to get in touch with the Student Support here and didn't get a response... At this point I don't even know if they offer their services to students of the uni.

I have my first appointment with my new counsellor sometime next week, so I thought until then I'd turn to this forum for support and hear from a POV different from a counsellor and other immediate relations from me. I understand that you guys are no student support staff, but I'd like to know what you'd do if you were in this situation? Would it be a good idea to drop out this soon, or would it be better to try to talk to a teacher/staff about it?