Mental Support Community

My Son has been Diagnosed with Micropenis

Wesma

As the title states, my 3 year old son has been diagnosed with micropenis. He also has undescended testicles and underdeveloped scrotum. I was a preschool teacher and out of hundreds of little boys whose diapers I've changed, I knew something was different with my son. I was blown off by his doctor when he was two, but after waiting and seeing no change I demanded a referral to an endocrinologist. 

It may take months until we can see someone. In the meantime I am reaching out to see if there are any of you who may have information as to why this may have happened and any research or experience on what may be done to not just help him in terms of his physical health, but also his mental and emotional health in the event that this is not something that can be resolved.

I am extremely grateful for any guidance on this topic. I know if my husband had had a very small penis, I would love him just as much, but I can only imagine how much emotional pain this might cause. 

It's a good thing to see that you've spotted the issue, a lot of mothers would be in denial and never address it. I don't know what you can do about it or why it comes about, I've heard people talk about hormone injections, but don't quote me on that, it's a discussion to have with a professional. His mental health as he gets older will really depend on him, there are plenty of men who suffer from this condition that love themselves and don't suffer as much as others. Some guys can really get down on themselves. I really don't know what to say, it's tricky. But I wish you a world of luck and he's really lucky to have such a loving mother who isn't living in cloud cuckoo land. Good luck

1 hour ago, YOTH said: