Mental Support Community

I got a sticky mess...

KatieDid

Katiedid,

I have been a nurse since 1993 and have witnessed the kinds of things your are talking about many times. Like you, I am extremely empathetic to the emotions of the patients. A distressed day to a patient can mean a distressed day to me. Why is that so? Because we have been on the receiving end and know, without a doubt, that someone is being hurt. Temporary or not, it's abuse.

I remind you of the patient's bill of rights. You know what they are, your patients had to receive a copy as did their family members on admission. Your bosses are also aware of this document.

The instances where a right can be denied is in the interest of safety or personal choice. In the case of dementia, a family member can determine that the situation is O.K. (personal choice) but must be carefully documented.

The truth is that, legally, your facility is legally bound to provide patient rights to everyone. Knowing that patient A regularly verbally abuses patient B (who has dementia), the company is required to do all that it can to prevent that. Even if it means maintaining a safe separation.

I don't know what you feel safe doing, but I would start by reporting the problem all the up the ladder, straight to the state inspection board if that's what it takes to keep the safe environment that our patients depend upon. Your name is never disclosed on state reports.

Additionally, I have to say as a person with major anxiety issues: Healthcare may be too much stress for your mental health. Those of us who take on the burdens of the patients have more depression and anxiety than those who don't. It may be beneficial to work in another environment, rehab or skilled/sub-acute are good environments for us because the patients get to go home and we get to feel that sense of satisfaction.

Guest ASchwartz

Hi Katiedid,

Just a technical point but I may be wrong: