Mental Support Community

mental illness and fatherhood/employment

PatPaul

Hello Everyone:

I have a couple of questions and need some advice. I live overseas. Married, two kids (3 years old and 1 year old). I have suffered from alcoholism and depression (from 1995). I am a teacher. Fired from my last teaching job due to my MI. I teach about 8 hours a week. Spend a lot of time at home with the kids, which is good. I had a talk with a good American friend the other day. Like many of my other friends, when he finds out that my employment situation has not changed in the two years since I moved here, he wonders if it might not be time for me to return home. He's 5 years younger than me(I am 49), and he's single. I try to bring up the issue that it would not be good for the family for me to go back overseas to teach and leave my family here on their own. I also try to take a positive look on my circumstances by saying I/my family and I are not rich, but we are not on the streeet like others, and my family and I have food on the table. My friend responded by saying, "yeah, well B_____, we're not talking about other people, but about you! Who is looking out for you...." You're not a good influence for your kids when they get older if you are underemployed, working 8 hours a week, unhappy, and your unhappiness or resentment will be picked up by the kids.