Mental Support Community

Affraid?

leslietod

:D

Hi!

I guess I'm new to this personality issue.. Anyways I have a huge fear of new situations, creating a routine and ultimately people, I simply do not trust people...

I feel hopeless and useless and all my motivation has gone down the drain.

I can't even go out to buy something to eat and the supermarket is 10 m from my house... I really don't know what to do.

My husband supports me and wants to take me to see a therapist but I'm scared it's like admitting that I have a problem and that I am weak...:confused:

I don't know what to do because people don't understand how I feel and the ones that I tell how I feel simply don't care and end up treating me badly or getting hurt because I feel better in my house, I really don't know what to do...

I'm sorry if this sounds like ramblings but I have a headache and am feeling always very tired...I guess I've given up on myself and need someone to help me...but I'm too scared...

Hi leslietod,

I don't think it's such a bad thing to admit you have a problem. I know I've got plenty, and so do most of the people I know. And I suspect that those people I know who don't seem to have problems probably do, only I don't know them well enough.

Many people are afraid, and of all different things. Try looking in the Anxiety section of this group for some examples. I myself get very nervous meeting new people, and socialize as little as possible. But there are therapies that help. So the question is, is it enough of a problem for you that you'd be willing to try one of them?

Hi leslietod,

Have you ever thought that this might not be a personality issue but a kind of characteristic of depression. I was just thinking back to a time early on when I was diagnosed with clinical depression. I felt helpless and hopeless and could trust people because I was feeling so helpless.