Mental Support Community

New "KId"

Hi. I'm a 44 year old female from Utah. I have had depression and anxiety for all of my life. I was diagnosed when I was 19. I have been a nurse (LPN) for 19 years, and have gone back to school to finish my RN. I came here to learn how other people deal with the stress of depression, anxiety, and feelings of isolation. Lately I cry a lot and feel a lot of frustration. I don't know if it is life, or nursing school or a midlife crisis that has brought this on. Usually I just feel blank, which I have gotten used to. My Nurse Practitioner says that feelings are progress, but I'm not sure what to do about them. Any comfort/advice/needed kick in the butt would be greatly appreciated.

Hello, Zigadenus, and welcome to our community. I am struck right away by your signature "Always be kind-Everyone is fighting some kind of battle." It's true that all of us have our own personal struggles and kindness is something that we can always offer to one another along the way.

My Nurse Practitioner says that feelings are progress' date=' but I'm not sure what to do about them. [/quote']

Do you also have a counselor that you talk with about your depression and anxiety? You mentioned "feeling blank." Talking about feelings and confronting old pain can bring things to the surface. Maybe this is what is happening? You might find it helpful to talk about and process your emotions with a professional. I have found that journaling and reaching out to friends for support during difficult times is beneficial for me.

Combating anxiety is also challenging for me. It usually helps me to spend time in nature or find a quiet place with the comfort of a friend. Everyone is different and has different needs, though. What has worked in the past to ease your anxiety?

Any comfort/advice/needed kick in the butt would be greatly appreciated.