Mental Support Community

hi

itinaeroa

Haha I've kinda done this back to front. Went on the boards first and then came here.

Well, I'm 35, live in beautiful New Zealand.

My back yard is dense bush stretching out to the harbour.

When I feel down I look out at the scene and breathe.

I have been hearing voices since 2011 and have learned to live with them.

I have no other symptoms other than voice hearing.

Hello, itinaeroa, welcome :)

It's great that you've learned to live with them! Does it also mean they don't bother you and they are not mean to you? Because I'd say that if they are somehow "negative" or "mean", then it would be better to find their "meaning", the reason why they appeared, ... probably "make some changes" and they could disappear - it they "role" was to "let you know that some changes would be good", so to say. But, well; everybody is different, so they might not have "such a role" for you.

Do you know this website?

http://www.hearing-voices.org/

Take care!

Have you talked to your doctor about it? Their might be medications or something out there that will quite them.

Hi, it all started out pretty sudden and lead to the onset of severe psychosis within 2 weeks of the onset. I was hospitalized and placed on medication. For year I was on one type of medication then was hospitalized for Diabetic Ketoacidosis and was diagnosed with Diabetes. They took me off that medication and put me on another one which works well to quieten the voices.

Hello, itinaeroa, welcome :)