Mental Support Community

Don't Know What's Wrong

juliew

My name is Julie, and I'm new to your support community.

I really can't figure out what is going on. I'll try to make my history as brief as possible. I have suffered with depression all of my life - 55 years. My diagnosis is major depressive disorder, and I've been on various combinations of 20 different meds for over 25 years. I'm currently on 7 different meds. I've had approximately 15 ECT treatments that did nothing but destroy my memory. My depression was so bad, I am totally and permanently disabled. Two years ago I quit drinking alcohol; went to rehab, haven't had a drink since. About a year ago my psychiatrist put me on Riluzole (Rilutek). It was kind of a last-ditch effort, since nothing had helped. Apparently Riluzole works on the glutamate system/receptors in the brain, instead of the usual receptors. I did some reading, and found that NAC (N-Acetyl Cistine), an amino acid, also works in the same way as the Riluzole. I began taking that too around 8-9 months ago. Recently, I have expanded my spiritual life and have had positive results. My depression has lifted somewhat, for the first time in my life! I no longer feel as though I am in a deep dark pit with no way out.

Now for my confusion. I am feeling better mentally and emotionally than I ever have, yet I find myself withdrawing from life. I'm happiest in my bedroom reading and surfing the net. I don't watch TV, or do much around the house. I made a discovery a couple of days ago: I have not laughed since I quit drinking. This makes no sense to me. If I'm feeling better, I should be more out going and at least laugh sometimes. In all fairness, I do get out of the house a couple of times per week, and for the most part, have a decent time while I'm out.

It's just very strange to me. I'm curious if someone else is going through or has gone through a similar experience. Any comments and/or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.