Mental Support Community

When trying a new skill

Dazed

Hello guys,

I need help on some matters.

When it comes to developing a new skill, I have problems. You see, having the 'knowledge' on a specific skill is no trouble for me but when it comes to demonstrating or performing the skill, that is when things begin to be really bad.

I've had my driver's license for five years now but it's only recently that I've begun to use it. It took me 5 years to develop the confidence in driving.

Right now, being a nurse, I went through an intravenous therapy skill workshop that will provide me with the credentials to practice intravenous therapy which is a basic prerequisite to work as a nurse.

Thing is, when it comes to performing the skill, I screwed up! From the start, I got a mental block and got intimidated with the manner that the nurse preceptor was observing me. I thought like "damn! she doesn't like me! I'm screwed! I'm never going to get this right!" and yes dear folks, I missed the vein causing quite a pain to my partner who thankfully didn't get mad at me.

I passed the workshop but only with an average mark which for me is not good enough. In the class of 30, only 5 of us didn't hit the vein which I find to be very humiliating. And my problem is, this happened 2 weeks ago and I can't get it out of my head. I'll be having the completion (that's when you must comply with a number of actual insertions to patients) in a few days and I'm dead worried that I might miss again.

Am I setting standards that are too high even for myself? I mean in actual practice, if I miss, I might get a reprimand and a chance to lose my license to practice.

I read a book that told me that people sometimes base or invest much their self-worth on their performance and I'm afraid I'm one of these people. Can you guys help me get my thoughts of this mindset?

Thanks.

Hi Josh