Mental Support Community

Can extreme anxiety damage your health?

goose

If you have an episode of extreme anxiety, not a panic attack, can this affect your physical health?

Can the racing heart bring on a heart attack or raise blood pressure in someone who has unstable blood pressure? Would fast breathing affect someone who has poorly controlled asthma?

Stress can have physical effects I think, like raise blood pressure etc. Is extreme anxiety the same as stress in any way?

Love to hear your thoughts.

Goose

My understanding is that the para-sympathetic nervous system is there to keep things in check and prevent any serious/permanaent damage but I'm not a doctor. But I think the bottom line is that the sooner we get a handle on managing our anxieties the better it is for our long term health. I also like what Malign had to say about giving yourself another thing to worry about.

• 2 weeks later...

IMO, Yes. Prolonged and untreated , extremed Anxiety will have a negative affect on ones health. My Guess would be, High blood Pressure, Fast Heart rate, Breathing problems, Blood Circulation Problems, Chemical imbalances , Eating Disturbances, Sleeping Disturbance, Mood Changes, Fears, or Phobias, and the longer this is left untreated the worse damage it will have on the overall functioning and well being of the health of the individual.

I also have Anxiety issues, along with PTSD, which makes it extremely difficult for me to personnaly go outside and even to the store. the medication I take makes me very loopy, or tired, too relaxed, but very calm. However, as long as I stay at home, "well protected" I am safe .

Goose, I went back and re read your post, One eposoide , of anxiety even if it is that of an extreme nature is probably NOT going to damage ones health, however prolonged extreme Anxiety left untreated , then YES. I feel that it is something to discuss with your MD.

Edited by mscat

• 4 months later...