Mental Support Community

Could therapy work against me?

Hi OnlyHuman,

I don't think you are being paranoid. I think the question you raise is very valid, esp. in your situation. I would think a very "good" lawyer would take advantage of anything having negative connotations look really bad for you to help your children's father win, at any cost. Just my opinion, but I'm looking at it from a cautious point of view. You should check w/ your lawyer before doing anything that could be perceived as unfavorable to your character as a mother (influencing caregiver) to your children. I have no personal experience w/ divorce, but I've heard the "dirty tactics" stories from relatives who did. I wish you well and take care.

Edited by karai

Good morning and welcome, Onlyhuman,

This has to be a tough rode right now. I have typically strayed from custody issues but have had to on occasion go to court to testify as an "expert witness". Every state is different, but one common theme is that the court will ignore your treatment issues entirely unless there currently is or has been a history of neglect or abuse on your part, towards the children. Also, the judge will look at whether or not you have the means and capacity to raise your them (a safe home, financially able to meet their needs). Finally, they'll look at your stability-- are you or have you been a danger to yourself or others, are you capable of taking care of yourself (i.e., you are not mentally ill to the point of self neglect).