Mental Support Community

seperated, 15 months, 6000 miles.

DAG8819

ok, excuse the grammar im going on 15 hours at work. i am a soldier in a classified unit. ive been deployed since september 07, and i got married august 07. due to the classified nature of my job, i cant tell my wife whats bothering me. jobs dont get much higher stress then this. and its tearing us apart. i love my wife very much, shes my whole world. i cant lose her. shes had it real rough since i left. she had some mental issues abnout a month ago, shes been put on several medications since. now she seems completely different, she isnt who i married anymore. lately shes been blowing me off to hang out with her friend that has tried to end our relationship since the start. what should i do? i wont be home until mid november.

Guest ASchwartz

DAG8819,

I would like to read suggestions from others, however, here is what I think, for what it's worth:

You are very far away and under enormous stress and in great danger. No one can control what other people will do, not under any circumstances. Given the amount of time away and the distance, you should, in my opinion, focus on where you are, what you are doing and nothing else. If you are allowed to write to her, just tell her you love her and nothing else.

Please remember, information becomes very distorted and, therefore, inaccurate when such great time and distance is involved.

I can assure you that, without knowing your wife, medication would change her personality. In other words, if there is anything going on, and you have no way of knowing, it would not be due to medication. Also, if she has a friend and is able to socialize now because she feels better, what is wrong with that?