Mental Support Community

shame

notmary

How does one learn to live with the shame of what they have been through? As these memories continue to flood my life, it s becoming increasingly clear that these things did happen to me. I am so embarassed and ashamed. I am hving a trouble interacting with anyone, and the only thng that is keeping me functioning is the routine but I am totally detached from everyone. How do you ever feel anything other than shame again?

Hi Notmary, I'm sorry to hear you're stuggling with issues of shame. Can you tell us a little more about it, if you're comfortable. You were probably not in any position to stop whatever happened from happening so it is a mistake to feel shame. It is so common for victims to feel shame though, even if it is a mistake since it's the other person who should feel shame, not us. I'm not a professional so I can't really say why it happens, but from having experienced it I know it's there even though it should not be... I think it's about coming to the point where you truly realize that what the other person did was wrong and that it is their mistake to own, we were powerless in the face of it ... If you feel shame you probably have very strong core values that are being shaken up, values that you hold dear that were transgressed ... the situation may be a shameful one, but that it is not a reflection on who you are or what you hold dear, it is the situation you were forced into...