Mental Support Community

Emotionally Unavailable?

Sardonyx

I'm not very good with feelingsy things so I'll try and describe this as best I can. :)

I'm in a relationship with a guy (have been for 3 years). This certain problem keeps coming up. He wants me to be more affectionate - I mean in general, not just in the bedroom (that is a whole other problem.. lol). I was brought up in a family where touching (as in hugs etc) was a big nono and same with expressing emotions of any sort. I've never been a touchy feely person, nor am I able to express emotions except anger. However, he comes from a very healthy kind of background where talking about your emotions, hugging, and affection in general were an everyday thing. It's hard for me to comprehend but I have been to his family's house for christmas and I saw it with my own two eyes! Talk about a culture shock! :) I think it'd be a dream come true living in a family like that!