Mental Support Community

Transference questions

appleby

I am frustrated. I have been in therapy for 4 years(this time around) was in therapy for over 10 years, then took a break for 8. I am trained as a therapist myself and I think I have pretty good awareness of myself and my transference. I have early trauma which is what we have been working on. When I entered into this relationship, I knew what form my transference would take -- dependence on the therapist, the need to have her know and see me, "yucky" feelings of wanting her, needing her, missing her etc. and anxiety when she was away. I knew that this kind of transference was going to happen and that tolerating it is the way for my early wounds to heal and so I have...

What I have done is sort of internalized an inside version of her which i distinguish from who she really is. I talk constantly to that version of her telling her everything that is important to me at the time, from significant to the mundane - things I am working in therapy, how I view the therapeutic relationship, things I am doing in my life at home and work and sometime simple things like how well I am cooking an omelet. This is, I believe the nature of my transference with her. It is really self-absorbed on my part, and "all about me" and the "real" her in the internal world is peripheral - though I very much look forward to my sessions with her when I can really discuss the things that I feel are important and I know which things I have discussed in actuality and which things I have not and want to work on with her.