Mental Support Community

A question about Schizophrenia

kioku

I posted here a while back. But I checked out a book called Surviving Schizophrenia for research purposes. And I'm only 17 and I am studying Psychology in and out of school hours. I found the book interesting except one thing.. I had an aunt on my mother's side who was placed in a mental hospital and long time ago. My mother was never told why, but I do know that she was very paranoid, liked to be alone, only drank coffee, smoked alot, couldn't work, and always thought there were snakes everywhere. Every time I tell my mother a symptom of schizophrenia, she notes that her sister had that.

I was always pretty odd.. I mean very odd. Sort of in my own world. And I currently have all of these symptoms listed below. But it could be because of my recent depression or the OCD I have been diagnosed with.. Here:

--Overly acute senses- lights are too bright, sounds are too loud. (I've had this for about four years.)

--Staring, while in deep thought, with infrequent blinking.

--Clumsy, inexact motor skills (I have always had this)

--Sleep disturbances- insomnia or excessive sleeping

--Parkinsonian type symptoms- rigidity, tremor, jerking arm movements, or involuntary movements of the limbs (I have always had this. Sometimes my whole body freezes and shakes at weird moments.)

--Movement is speeded up- i.e. constant pacing

--Movement is slowed down- staying in bed( I alternate between these two. )

--The inability to experience joy or pleasure from activities

--Sometimes feeling nothing at all

--Appearing desireless- seeking nothing, wanting nothing

--Feeling detached from your own body (depersonalization)

--Hypersensitivity to criticism, insults, or hurt feelings (Now I have always had this.)

--Sudden irritability, anger, hostility, suspiciousness, resentment

--Depression- feeling discouraged and hopeless about the future

--Low motivation, energy, and little or no enthusiasm