Mental Support Community

I need help, please!

k1mberly

I previously posted this in the 'introduce yourself' section.

My thoughts and emotions sometimes, well a lot of the time, feel like they're out of my hands. My life is wonderful - I'm about to be married so these things are even harder to deal with now than they've ever been. I have so much more at stake and I'm afraid that these things will ruin my life. My fiance is extremely supportive and understanding, yet there are some things that are hard to verbalize to someone who hasn't had the experience.

I have many issues that I recognize (social anxiety, depression) but I'm experiencing what I think might be intrusive thoughts... although I'm not sure because they're not violent or anything of that nature.

I remember one time after I graduated high school where I obsessed over whether or not I had moved my tassel from right to left... I convinced myself for a period of time that my graduation was not legitimate because of this and then I would get angry because I couldn't remember the exact moment in time and if I had actually done it or not.

I had a time where I obsessively tried to remember if I had adopted my dog because I liked him when I saw him.. or because I had been with someone when they saw the same time of dog - and like it. I hadn't even remembered this at the time of adoption... but it popped in my head after and I dwelled on it like crazy.

It has arisen again recently and deals with a much more serious matter. I was casually talking to a guy I was interested in around the same time I started talking to my fiance... The other guy lived in Florida (states away from me) and I hadn't seen him in years, but we were talking nonetheless. I met my fiance around that time also and after our first date I had fallen head-over-heels and so had he. I immediately ended conversing with Florida.