Mental Support Community

Autistic Friend.

Marshmallow.

New here and not really sure if I'm posting this in the right place, my apologies if not.

So my ex, who is now one if my very close friends, recently told me that he is autistic. I know absolutely nothing about autism so I googled it to try and get some info and read up what exactly it was. I found some pretty good information that described symptoms and what not but that wasn't really what I was looking for.

I want to be able to understand and help him in any way that I can. It was hard for us to be in a relationship because I'm such a terribly emotional person and because I didn't know about his autism at the time I would get incredibly frustrated with him. Now that I know I want to make our friendship work. I want to know how I can help him and make things easier. I have no experience in this whatsoever.

I guess I'm just asking if anyone has been in a similar situation and how they dealt with it. How can I make our friendship easier and work?

Autism is a spectrum disorder. Meaning that their are very high functioning people , low functioning, those who are non verbal, and with behavioral issues, and a lot of in between or mild cases of autism.

Your friend is somewhere on the spectrum, that is what he told you> He might be high functioning , and verbal, even able to have relationships with others. If he is very high functioning he may have what is called Asperger's Syndrome. This is when a person can have average to above average inteligence , However, lacks in the areas of social skills , and can become stuck on certain areas of interests only he has. Called narrow interests , and become fixtated on that. It would be difficult to change the converstaion of interest for him, and the conversation would be about this subject that he wants to talk about, even if the listener is not really interested in hearing about it.