Mental Support Community

3 years later.... still a cripple

Jenna520

The last two days have been rather awkward to me. I'm not sure why, but I'm dwelling on things that happened well over three years ago. By doing so, I've been second guessing myself and feeling like a complete failure. I can't pin point one thing that has flared it up, it just happened and it's driving me crazy. Here's my story.... somebody please tell me why my self esteem would bottom out just out of the blue. 3 or so years ago, I wasn't married, but had been living with my then fiancee for two years. He had two kids from a previous marriage, I had one kid from my previous marriage, and we were one big happy family. He was a detective for the city police dept and fourteen years older than me. I was a manager at a major retail store, and was doing well for myself. I was paying my own bills without his help. We didn't combine our finances, he paid rent, I paid the bills and bought the groceries and the childrens clothing. I had just bought my first new car, had lost 40 lbs, and had given myself a makeover. I felt just beautiful. Then one morning I woke up, and I couldn't move my hands, I couldn't bend my feet, it felt like every bone in my body had been crushed in a compacter. I couldn't get out of bed, I couldn't hold anything, I couldn't go the bathroom by myself because I couldn't pull my pants down. I asked him to take me to the emergency room and he did, but while I was back there he went out and had breakfast with one of his friends from the police dept. I really didn't think too much of it at the time because I knew how much he hated waiting anywhere. The doctors prescribed me some pain medicine, told me to follow up with my family doctor because my symptoms matched those of MS or Lupus. I called him to come pick me up, and we went home. I had to call into work that day obviously because I couldn't move. When we got home, he carried me up the stairs to the bed so that I could sleep when th