Mental Support Community

New guy, searching for some help...

Angiocath

So… I think I really need some help and I am not sure what to do… I found this forum through a random search and I was wondering if maybe someone can offer some realistic advice or help of some sort.

So, I am in my early 20’s and I am a student in a field I rather not disclose, but it is a very tough and competitive one that requires a lot of field work and course work. Over the last few years as I have been studying this, I have grown more depressed I have noticed – which was not too unusual, I was always with a rather low affect I suppose, but recently it’s been worse than ever.

I am experiencing sleep problems, I can’t fall asleep and when I do I have horrible nightmares that wake me up in the middle of the night, I am losing interest in grooming and hygiene which I know are telltale signs, I care less about home work and actually showing up to school and every time I think of school for that matter – I have this tight knot in my stomach and fear just spreads over me. I even lost interest in things I used to think were fun so I don’t do anything anymore… I hate what I study now, I don’t see hope for my future and recently I have been developing frightening thoughts that perhaps I should just end my life now and avoid all this crap, and even worse off, I am afraid to say it because it’s part of my field of study to know this – I even thought of a plan which puts me rather high up there on the risk list, but I am too afraid to go along with it.