Mental Support Community

MEMORIES - life of their own ?

lagrima

Hello, Lagrima. The information you post is interesting. I've been taking some courses myself in psychology and recently studied PTSD. I've learned a lot of clinical stuff, and even started trying to speak with a clinical voice. There is a lot that goes on in the brain from a biological standpoint. But, I think, more importantly, is the human aspect of understanding and helping others. If I do become a therapist one day (I'm studying to), I think it will be helpful to know such information...but it is not something I would apply in the absence of real, genuine, and caring connection. Every person is a unique individual and I'd want to get to know them inside, how they felt about themselves, how they viewed the world, how they related to others. I'd want to form a trusting relationship with them and offer support.

Sometimes talking very intellectually can be a way to protect oneself from confronting emotions. As a member of our community, we would like to get to know you a little better. My name is Beth, and it is nice to "meet" you. Is there anything that you'd like to share about yourself?

I'm going to move your thread to General Support, okay?

Hi Lagrima :)

Do you identify with either of these :- ?

1. A 'complex'

2. False memory syndrome.

I realise that this may be your way of trying to express how you are feeling or what may be troubling you. It is just so very difficult for me to offer you support, even though I truely want to, because with me its hard to relate to a person when its just a series of questions even if they are intelligent and purposeful. I hope that I have not offended you, as I only want to be able to help, in some way thats all :o

Oh, forgot to say my name is Sue, hi again.

Take care

And what is even great about it is the choice of anonymity you give to the

members . ( please don't mind if i prefer this mode at the moment . )