Mental Support Community

HIV fear

helen3

I´m new in this forum, I´ve been trying to look for help here and there. I have a very irrational hiv fear, I´ve been having it for the past 10 years. I used to go and get tested after every sexual relationship, even if there had been no risk.

Now my fears are worse, I´m afraid that I got hiv from a blood test or at the dentist appointment.

I go to psychiatrist too and I´m on meds. Sometimes they help but sometimes I get really depressed like to day :(

I can understand how you feel. I went thru I similar stage after HIV became publicly known. We're talking about the 1980's. I worked in the medical field with HIV patients and became so paranoid about it, I had full blood screens monthly.

In time, I realized through educating myself, that risk of contracting HIV was easily reduced and eliminated with precautions. Have you taken the time to educate yourself, are your fears based in reality?

Sometimes, the things we fear the most are not all that scary when we understand the causes.

Thank's so much to you both for your support!

My fears aren't real coz I haven't been in a situation that would be a risk, like unprotected sex. I worry about kissing, dentist, blood tests, public toilets .... I have talked to experts and I know that I could never get hiv from those places.

My case is more like an ocd.

Today I'm feeling really anxious.... I'm thinking I should get an hiv test (again) though there really isn't any real reason

for that. Somehow I'm obsessed with this idea as I have been so many times before.

But then again I don't want to get tested coz I couldn't handle a positive result. And then again, it should be negative

coz I haven't had any risk.

But I think I shouldn't get tested coz I'm afraid that later on I'll get another irrational reason to get tested and I can't be

testing all the time! I've had two tests this year already: in january and in june.

Even the meds aren't helping me today :(