Mental Support Community

New member...no one knows

Laurie_A

My name is Laurie. I'm not sure where to begin other than to tell a little about myself. I'm a 35 year old mother of 2. I'm a full time student & have been for 9 years now. There's so much pressure trying to do well & although I'm educated and will graduate in May, I often put my own mental health needs and every other need for that matter to the side due to the love I feel for my family & the neediness they somehow think its ok to require me to fulfill. I feel that I have suppressed so much pain. It's not that my pain isn't important, but I'm afraid that acknowledging this deep pain I feel will lead to everything falling apart. There's been happy moments in my life, but why are there absolutely no memories of ever being truly happy or content? My mother died in April of this year & I feel this aching in my heart that seems as it has shattered every single thing within me. I do what everyone says...find a happy memory and focus on that, don't dwell, be strong, allow time to heal, etc etc but this is all pointless and does absolutely nothing. My daughter recently was discharged from a facility for cutting herself and I live in constant hypervigilance & extreme fear that she will succeed at taking her life. Meanwhile, my daughter continues to wreak complete panic within our family. I have my daughter in counseling, but nothing is getting better. "Everyone" in our home is in this mode of crisis and panic & I have no idea how to piece our shattered family back together :(

Hi, Laurie, and welcome to the community.

It's good for any of us to reach out for help when we need it. Self-care is so very important.

My mother died in April of this year & I feel this aching in my heart that seems as it has shattered every single thing within me. I do what everyone says...find a happy memory and focus on that, don't dwell, be strong, allow time to heal, etc etc but this is all pointless and does absolutely nothing.