Mental Support Community

Abusive father that's asking for money and pretending to care

chengsta

Hello, Chengsta, welcome!

I've read all the experiences you mentioned and it really does sound like hell... :( There's no wonder that it haunts you in your dreams. (However; I'm curious if this night, after posting this, wasn't perhaps a bit different... Or did you at least feel a bit good when you wrote it down?) It's great that it seemed to you that you have almost "forgotten it", since it, I suppose, means that you've succeeded to "detach" yourself to some extent from your past and live a rather "normal" life. However, it might be worth to consider to work on your recovery - your dreams suggest that the trauma is still there, unprocessed. Have you ever searched for info about posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), have you been interested in psychology of trauma and its treatment? Although I'm just a layman without personal experience with PTSD, I can tell you that there are effective ways of treating consequences of trauma and your sleep might finally become peaceful. (I'm sure there would be also other positive consequences - visible during the day ;).)

I know you didn't post here to seek help or advises about the impacts of your childhood. Yet I couldn't omit it! Of course, your current problem with your father is important and serious, but it would be a big shame to focus just on it and not to discuss your long-lasting issues...

May I also ask you about your roommate? What exactly did he mean by he's "had enough"?? Did he leave or asked you to leave? And did you tell him about the abuse?

OK, I'm going to try to address your questions.