Mental Support Community

Not good at this

scrappy

I'm not very good at this and don't know where to start. I'm having a hard time sleeping right now. I didn't sleep well last night. I had nightmares. I watched a show and it made me remember something from when I was a kid. The memories feel so intense even though it was twenty years ago and it's just left me feeling not ok. It's hard when things like this come up. It's like I can't shake it.

I've done a therapist before and I have one I can go to, but whenever I do it's like I have no problems when I'm there. Everything just seems fine and I can't remember why I even came. Last night I tried to write about it and I think I get stuck at not knowing who to blame. I look at my parents even now and they just don't know how to deal with things. I can't blame them because they don't know any better. Why should I be hurt by people who don't know any better? And I know I'm not supposed to think it was me even though that's how it feels.

Maybe if you were able to bring these concerns up in therapy you might be able to get a little further with talking about it and a little further with what is bothering you. I used to make notes and bring them in to therapy. I even wrote little papers at one time. You might need to feel a little more comfortable with talking about it first. You are welcome to talk more here if that helps!

Part of the problem is that I don't know if there is anything I can even do. I can't change the past. I can't change who my parents are. What happened, happened. I know it shouldn't mean that there was something wrong with me. But sometimes I feel dragged back to then. I must not be making any sense or I don't know what I'm wanting here. If there's nothing I can do, then theres nothing you can do. How could there be? I just don't want to feel like this. But maybe that's just how it is and I have to live with it.