Mental Support Community

POCD? Terrified out of my mind.

olliee

Hi, I am a twenty two year old female and about a year ago, I remembered something horrific that happened in my childhood. I started having these fears of being attracted to children (keep in mind I have NEVER been attracted to them) I fell into a depression and made an appointment with a therapist who specializes in OCD and CBT. I visited him a few times but never brought up the real reason I was there because I am terrified he would write me off as a pedophile and bad things would happen to me. I have struggled with this inside for so long and I feel so hopeless. I spend my whole day worrying and reassuring but that gets me nowhere. I also work as a care giver to the elderly and now I am terrified about being around them! I can't keep living like this. I have NEVER been attracted to anyone but men my age. I am in a committed relationship with the man of my dreams and this is destroying me. I am so scared that I will accidentally let these awful things slip and he will think of me as a monster. I try so hard to avoid children and I am so scared of work now because I would never hurt anyone and I can't seem to reassure myself enough. I am constantly "checking" and even that brings on great stress and doubt. I read that people don't just change their sexuality overnight but that only eases my mind for a minute or so. I am horrified that I can think these things about myself and live every day in this disgusting fear. I just want all of this to go away. It's a constant battle and it makes me sick. I'm sorry to just ramble, I just feel so awful and sick.

You're just paranoid. That's all that's wrong with you. We all have disturbing thoughts from time to time. The best thing to do is just to put it out of your mind, ignore it, and think about something else.