Mental Support Community

Help! Do I have a Disorder Or Not?!

sami_dubai

Hi Everyone!

Appologies for the length of my post but I am suffering terribly and assistance.

My story begins when I was 19 when i entered college. At that point my father changed, He started getting very violent with me and instead of being his favorite child I became a totally neglected son and he started to treat my brother royally for no reason. This affected my self esteem severly and when I joined college I did not even have the guts to even speak up in class. I developed a body dismorphic disorder(I think by focusing my dad's bad treatment to me on my body). I was treated with medication and BCT for 3 months and my disorder was gone! Then i was hit with a chronic insomnia and started missing early classes coz of my sleeping disorder. My grades went down although I was an A student at school. and for 3 years I was hardly passing my courses. I sought the help of a psychiatrist for my problem and he prescribed my ZYPREX! I thot it was a sleeping pill and my sleeping disorder went away and I gained some weight which boosted my self esteem coz i am very skinny. Recently I was exposed to tremendous emails from freaks about death, cancer and other dangerous diseases and gradually I believe developed a health anxiety(Hypochondria) to which anxiety in general induced by severe financial problems just added fuel to fire. I recently came to know zyprexa was not a sleeping pill and indeed an antipsychotic medication with controversy over having serious side effects. I asked the unprofessional shrink I see about quitting it(who also confused my health anxiety with OCD)....and he approved quitting zyprexa(he did not even advice me on how to quit) I quit cold turkey method and for 8 days there are no withdrawal symptoms. I have tremendous anxiety specially about my health. I have access to xanax from a reputable psyciatrist I also see and xanax kills the anxiety for a while till its back again. I a