Mental Support Community

BiPolar Disorder and Hashimoto's Disease

profesoteric

[*]Do you have a diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder and Hashimoto's Disease?

[*]Which were you diagnosed with initially?

[*]What medication do you take? Do they help?

[*]Do you also have an Anxiety Disorder?

[*]Are you type I or type II Bipolar?

[*]What is it like living with both of these disorders? How do you survive?

I am a 39 years old Musician and have a dual diagnosis of Bipolar II and Hashimoto's Disease. BiPolar was diagnosed initially. I also have an anxiety disorder.

I find the most dibilitating thing on a day to day basis is the tiredness associated with Hashimoto's Disease. I take both Quetiapine and Amitriptyline for BiPolar which helps to control mood swings.

I'm also interested in knowing if you have an 'artistic' temperament. Do you find that BiPolar Disorder is actually a help to your creativity?

Please use this thread to contribute your story. What advise can you bring to the forum which my help sufferers?

• 3 weeks later...