Mental Support Community

Breakdown

ManyFaces

I was in nyc when the towers came down. I was young then, only 13. I never thought I could be affected, but I don't think I ever really believed that. Since 9/11 I've been a substance abuser. In light of this I was affected by 9/11, I guess denial is sometimes ones only coping mechanism maybe. I wont go into specifics but I've had some very dark times in my life even pre-9/11. the summer of 06 I was turning 18 and I thought I was cured. With the help of a shrink I quit a lot of substances, I got an N/A degree thingy and was on my way. I was doing good, then my shrink said that maybe we should dig deeper then just the surface of my problems and get to the root of it. Things from there got bad. I stopped going to see him but he had opened the floodgates and it was too late. then 9/11 rolled in again, and with it the holidays and everything that I had balanced in my mind fell to pieces.

Since then I've considered going to see professional but I guess maybe I'm a bit scared. I'm pretty unbalanced now, but I don't want things to progress the way they did the last time. I'm aware of the whole, "its darkest before the light" and all that nonesence and I guess it true, but I have so many issues. It took me a good 6 or 7 months to rebuild myself the last time i went to see a shrink.

Every year it seems 9/11 brings up things I just don't know how to deal with. Not just in terms of what may or may not be PTSD, but it sturs up everything. I mean I've rehashed the events, their meanings, how I suspect they've affected me but it makes no difference. As soon as 9/11 comes around everything seems to crash. I don't even know if it is PTSD or what. But from 9/11 I just feel pained.