Mental Support Community

parents - cause and effect

solustein

i don't know if something is wrong with me honestly this maybe even a wrong part of the forum to talk about this, but i was wondering the way my parents argued and just basically acted towards each other for 7 years, could it by chance have an effect on my mental health? my parents would argue a lot and sometimes would end up in fist fights (mostly my dad would be hitting my mother) i would always stop them always since i was like 10 years old it stopped but is slowly starting again, its often my leg or hand just starts twitching or moving for no reason just cause it does it weird and its possible its stress from all of it but i just want some info on this. feel free to ask questions il answer any probably.

I'm no doctor. Not even close.

But I've had to deal with fighting parents.

The constant back and forth yelling,

sometimes, even weapons and beatings brought in.

And sometimes they seem completely alright with life.

I know that fighting within a house can usually bring about just enough, if not too much stress for not only the parents, but the children, and anybody else living in the house.

They don't think about it,

we don't think about it,

It's just as you say,

Cause and effect.

Might I suggest, when you feel like you say you do, try chewing on some ginger ((i know sounds crazy)) or drinking some ginger ale?

It's a root that calms, and makes you slightly sleepy.

Peppermint can help clear your mind as well.

It's a simple technique that may help you just a bit..

Like said before, I'm not medical officer.

Hope I helped,

Good luck with what ever you choose to do,

~

Ally

Guest ASchwartz

Hi Solustein and Alxias,

Alxias is completely correct. Parental constant arguing definitely takes a toll on the mental health of those in the house, especially the children.