Mental Support Community

Has the VA made a monster of me ?

dcosper

Hello, this will probably be a very long post, it may also contain many spelling and punctuation errors, please forgive me, I am less worried about my typing atm, and a bit more worried about getting this off my chest.

I am a 39 year old Veteran of Desert Storm, now I never actually saw any action, as i was stationed in Fairbanks Alaska, however the term still fits.

I want to make sure i stress the above statement, everything that has happened to me, is a result of training in Alaska.

The problems all started I guess, because we happened to have a first sergent who really did not care to see if his subordinates actually performed thier duty's while adhearing to the guidelines described under the UCMJ, which in layman's terms is pretty much a police officers guide to what is lawful, and what is unlawful.

It also goes into some detail about the requirements of being a soldier, such as what laws must be obeyed, and what you can and can not do to the people that you outrank, like can't sleep with thier wifes, cant force them to pay you a portion of thier check, etc etc.

In one of the guidelines, I cant remember the exact passage, it speaks of the physical level a soldier must meet, and what punishments can be given if they cannot meet it.

The passage I am going to speak of concearns the ability to perfom the bi-daily 5 mile run, which all soldiers in the army must be able to do at 8 mins a mile.

So a 5 mile run would take 8 mins a mile times 5 = 40 minutes, the platoon I was in required you ran 7 min miles, even though the UCMJ stated this was not allowed, I apologize for all of this extra info, but I need to feel you understand where this all started.

So, to get closer to the main point of this book, those of us who were unable to complete this run under this new time frame, were given remidal PT and smoke sessions.