Mental Support Community

It's been too long.

amberlyn

Well I gotta say that I'm glad to be back. It's been way too long since I've been here. I figured I needed to check in, and also ask for some advice ...

For those who remember, I've been battling anorexia for many many years. Well, unfortunately my eating disorder started rearing its ugly head again and I needed to go back to outpatient. FORTUNATELY, I recognized it before it destroyed me. So I did the outpatient thing for six grueling weeks ... and it was amazing. I learned a lot about myself and finally started to learn how to feel my emotions! It's an amazing and liberating feeling, scary as it may be. Anyway, my depression kinda kicked into high gear (as it does when the ED gets worse) so I started back on my meds. Yay, me! I've actually been taking my medication pretty consistently for about two months now, which is a major accomplishment for me. Well, after I was discharged from outpatient, I started sinking back into depression and was having S/I thoughts. Talked to my psych about it so she put me on another med. Yuck ... but I'm taking it.

Well, I figure you guys can help me out with this part .. I haven't been completely honest with any psychiatrist or therapist that I've ever seen. I have a family history of mental illness and don't want to be seen as crazy - at least not any crazier than I already seem. But there are certain symptoms that I've had that are recently getting worse. I have a counselor appointment on Friday and really considered talking to her about it. I kinda want the help that I'm sure only a professional can give ... but I'm scared of being seen as "crazy" or "sick" or "incapable."

Suggestions? Have you ever been in this situation?

Thanks all .... & I've missed you guys!!