Mental Support Community

How do I fix me?

StrawberryMoo

Hi,

I'm a freshman in college and since my freshman year in high school, I've been going through this sad thing that I thought was just a phase, but it hasn't lifted and I dunno. I started cutting in high school but over the past year its gotten so much worse and not a day goes by that suicide doesn't cross my mind.

I guess I just wanted to know if there is anything I could do to fix me. I'm only asking because I realize how stupid I'm being and I'm trying to stop. One of my friends in high school who was going through some things the same time I started cutting, and who use to cut too but who stopped made me see how dumb I was being and how ridiculous this all is. I want to listen to her and just stop being as stupid as I'm being, I want to not want to think about cutting every day and being depressed all the time and being outwardly sad all the time because I know its just me looking for attention and I don't want to be like that.

My roommate had found out and my school made me see one of the counselors but I stopped going because really there is nothing wrong with me. I don't have any problems and nothing bad ever happened to me. I know that me being this way is just hurting other people who don't understand. Like my mom, who blames herself for me being like this...

I just don't understand either you know and I know if it wasn't for my family I'd have killed myself already cuz I hate being this way and everything but it'd make them sad and I don't want that, but I can't help feeling this way.

Can someone throw some advice my way?

Moo,

Three problems I'm hearing: 1) cutting, 2) depressed mood (chronic) with suicidal ideation, and 3) a whole lot of negative self-judgment. You've called yourself stupid multiple times, and I seriously doubt you are a stupid person. Sure, a person who isn't coping as optimally as might be, but not stupid.