Mental Support Community

College Student in Distress

hhyle001

I am a freshman in college and hating it. I suffer from depression that stems from genetics, my environment, and circumstances. I lived with my mother until I graduated from high school; she also suffers from depression, and I received a lot of verbal abuse from her as I was growing up. She was on medication but did not take it correctly. Now that we do not live together anymore, it's not as bad. Over the summer, I felt happy for the first time in a long time because I believed life would be better once I left for college and got away from my mom.

I was wrong. Once I got here, I immediately disliked having a roommate. Because I have no source of income and no money whatsoever besides what I received in scholarships, I cannot move to an apartment or somewhere besides a dorm. I also have no car, so I must stay on campus where everything I need is within walking distance. I dislike having a roommate because we have nothing in common, and she is slightly disrespectful. She has daytime sleeping habits and does not respect my nighttime ones. She plays loud music and invites friends over often. She seems to always be in the room when I am, and this is a big problem because I grew up very accustomed to a lot of alone time and privacy. Now that I have practically no alone time/privacy, my depression is intensified. I tried contacting the housing department and explaining my situation, requested a private room, but they told me no private rooms are available. I am stuck here; I can switch roommates, but this would still not satisfy my privacy issues.

I am loaded down with a full amount of credit hours and responsibilities to keep my scholarships, including participation in many student affairs as well as volunteer work. Although it is not as bad as when I first got here, it still gets quite overwhelming at times.