Mental Support Community

new

magical thinking

Hi I'm new to all of this. I stumbled onto this website this morning and thought I'd ask. I'm not sure what is going on but in the last 3 weeks I've started cutting myself. The cuts started small but now they are getting bigger. They started shallow but now they are getting deeper. It seems to be getting worse everyday. The first day it was just a small cut with a paperclip, (I was just scratching myself almost not even paying attention to what my hands were doing until I looked down and saw a nice red line) Now I have taken to carring around a razor blade with me everywhere I go. Just so I can scratch myself when I need too. I am terrified that someone is going to see them and lock me up, but I get this thought in my head to do it and I just can't let go of it until. I just don't understand why I think I need to do this.

I’m sorry you are struggling with this. I have a problem with self-injury as well. You said that you just started three weeks ago. Try to get help right away so that you can work on coping with things in a better way. Sometimes it helps to distract yourself by listening to music, walking the dog, watching a funny movie or going to the mall etc. I know that the thought of someone finding out about it can be terrifying, but try to seek help from a professional before things get any worse. I did not, and I really regret it. It’s defiantly not worth it. The pain or depression can go away but the scars are there forever and living with them really sucks.

Take care,

Meredith