Mental Support Community

Can't finish what I start... Need tools to change that..

Cali1luv

Hi.

Last time I checked in here it was back in Agust!:eek:

I went to go see a therapist and we talked about maybe ADHD but nope! I don't have that.

Not being able to finish what I start or have the follow thru has made me not really "accomplish" much these last couple of years.

I dont "Stick" it out and .. I give up too easily.

I'm 25 and I have so much I want to accomplish but MOTIVATION AND FOLLOW THRU IS KILLING ME!

I don't know what to do or have any idea where to begin!

Losing weight, sticking with school, selling my Mary Kay:o:(

ADVICE or suggestions are welcomed!!

Anyone knows a good book on motivation that I can read?

Any tips!?!?:confused:

Hey there Cali. I have the same problem I always have several projects going at once. I have been writing a book now for 10 years and it's not half finished. What helps me to stay on task best are these 2 methods of self mind control.

1. I put off procrastinating. (I know that sounds funny). If you start something and you find it hard to finish, just keep telling yourself that you can quit in a minute. Give yourself time limits and stick to them.

2.Distract yourself. Reset your mind with a short activity like a doodle or coloring or a quick call to a friend.

These things usually help me. I hope they help you too.:)

thanks for the tips..

ANYONE ELSE has more.. i mean over 500 something views and 1 reply!:eek:;)

Hey there Cali. I have the same problem I always have several projects going at once. I have been writing a book now for 10 years and it's not half finished. What helps me to stay on task best are these 2 methods of self mind control.

1. I put off procrastinating. (I know that sounds funny). If you start something and you find it hard to finish, just keep telling yourself that you can quit in a minute. Give yourself time limits and stick to them.