Mental Support Community

Need help with marriage

Mickey

I have been married for a little over one year now and I fear that my marriage is headed for divorce - something I would like to avoid unless absolutely necessary.

Some pertinent background information:

I am currently a student and my wife is unemployed. She had been working for many years and was laid off about 6 months into our marriage. We decided that she could take a break from working for a while, but, at this point anyway (over six months after leaving her job), I am unsure whether she will return to work. We are being supported financially on the aid I receive from school as well as a small salary I receive working part-time. We have one daughter (from my wife's previous marriage) who is 13 years old. She lives with us most of the time, with the exception of 1 or 2 days most weekends, when she is with her biological father. She is a really good kid and a joy to have around.

There are some cultural issues as well. I am Caucasian and my wife is Korean (though she was raised in the US from the age of 13). She is somewhat Americanized, but still Korean in terms of her views on marriage and friendships; that is, "saving face" is exceptionally important to her with regards to her family and friends, and the image we project (mainly financial) to others in our peer group (both family and friends in the Korean American community) is also very important.