Mental Support Community

Dad's Passing

Solara

September 2008 my Father passed away from cancer at age 92. His birthday would have been 5 days after his death. I've been emotionally a wreck since then. I have crying spells while driving which is bad since I drive bus for a living. I can't feel right with people now. It's like I don't know how to act or something around them. I feel like crying when I visit my Mom and see all his things laying around the house and his chair, etc.. It's like a black hole inside me. I MISS his so much I feel like I don't know who I am at all. I can't get motivated to do things, to take care of myself and other symptoms I know are from grief but gimmie a break! I've been thinking of seeing a priest or other religious person to help me out with this issue since I don't really like counselors and can't afford it with all my other medical issues.

Obituary for my dad is here...

http://www.buffalonews.com/obituaries/story/447596.html#

I only post it because he was well known in his day and and had an interesting life.

My father passed away at 91 in Apr 2003; my wife passed away Feb 2004.

I am familiar with the feelings.

I think that it is a good idea to talk with your clergyman.

Also, the internet has good forums for grief information and talking. I liked "groww". Just google "groww". There are others. Hospice is good for this as well.

There is nothing unusual about what you are going through right now.

Just keep doing the best you can.

You can come here and talk some more as well.

Try to take good care of yourself.

Hi Solara,

First of all, I just want to say I am sorry for your loss. It is hard to lose a parent, no matter what their age.