Mental Support Community

My Loved One In Danger, Protective Instincts Failed Me

DoinMyBest

I didn't know whether to put this under Relationship or Behavior. Since it's behavior I don't like about myself, I put it here, but it's wrecking our relationship.

I'm in my second year of marriage to a woman I love dearly, the love of my life. I've led a very sheltered life up to age 40 and I've been in relationships (long term, short term, and in between) before, but it's not really up until this relationship that my "stuff" in terms of a provider, protector, all the things that are expected of a husband, have really been put to the test.

My wife and I live in a fairly rural area, lots of farmland, houses are maybe a quarter mile away from each other on an acre+ of land. People tend to keep to themselves. Recently, some new people moved in a few houses down and for the last week/week and a half, these two strange dogs have been appearing in our yard, a pitbull and a chihuahua. They seem friendly enough but (a) they don't belong on our land, and (B) we have dogs of our own and we don't want them getting into fights or getting hurt. We'd talked about calling Animal Control but up to now them being in our yard hadn't presented an immediate problem and we'd both let it go.

This morning, my wife looked out the bedroom window, and sure enough, there they were in front of our house. Our yard is gated, and runs continually around the house making an acre of land. As you go from the part facing the street to the part in the back, it gets really rough---lots of pointed rocks, broken glass, stuff that can hurt you if you're barefoot. The dogs were out in the front area, which is relatively safe to walk around in barefoot. My wife got dressed and went out to take pictures of the dogs for Animal Control, and I got dressed myself to go out with her, but didn't think to put anything on my feet.