Mental Support Community

Getting Rid of Stolkholm Syndrome

Sharlate

I'll try not to make this too long, but I really need some help.

I live in L.A. and am in the acting business part-time. I have been acting since I was saying my ABC's, and that's how long I've known the man who sexually abused me because he was my boss sometimes.

The abuse stopped about a year ago after I escaped him a month after he abducted me.

My parents threw me straight into therapy after it.

They feel awful that I have been being abused for about 12 years, and they didn't even know it.

In therapy, they came to a conclusion that I have Stolkholm syndrome, but they haven't been helping me with it. They just teach me how to cope in everyday situations so that I don't go crazy.

That's good and all, except for the fact that I wouldn't go crazy in the first place if I didn't have Stolkholm syndrome.

Stolkholm syndrome has been explained to me in my situation as feeling protective and a love towards my captor/abuser.

I agree that this is my problem because the man convinced me that he was in love with me and that I was in love with him, and that WE were the normal ones.

He told me to ignore society.

He said love had no age.

He said he loved me more than anyone else ever would love me.

He said he forced me into doing things because he knew that I wanted to do them but didn't have the courage to do so.

He said I am just as much at fault as he is because it was consensual most of the time.

Because of all these things and much more, I am now convinced that he is right. I don't understand what's wrong with him being sexually involved with some one who is half his age. I don't understand anything my therapist or society has to say, and it's killing me inside because I know that the way I'm thinking is not normal and it is wrong.

I want to be able to hate him.

Not be in love with him.