Mental Support Community

Anxiety in Iraq

lostsouldier1

Hello everyone. Okay I am a soldier in Iraq and I have been having some anxiety attacks and I believe I know the cause of them. I'm just not quite sure how to counter them. My reasons are not what some of you may think they are since I am in Iraq. I haven't killed anyone and I haven't even had any bullets come anywhere near me. I have had no combat contact. My issues are stemming from "involuntary celibacy." It has been several years since I have gone any more than 2 months without some sort of sexual interactions with another person. So being here 8 months has been very rough in that aspect. (Although I am extremely lucky that this is the worst thing I have to deal with over here.)

I have had several anxiety attacks and some of which were extreme. My most recent was the day I joined this sight, because I realized I need some help with this. I couldn't shake the sick feeling in my stomach, I was in a constant cold sweat, my adrenaline wouldn't stop pumping, and I couldn't sit still and would "jerk" in a kind of shaky way because my body was going crazy.

I know this is an odd situation, but not quite unique. If there is anyone who has had this problem before and has received counsel for it, please give me some advice. Also, if there are any counselors browsing through this forum that reads my post, please help me out. I don't know what to do to ease this and I have 4 months left over here. I know this may be a bit too much, but it has led me to chronic masturbation.

Please, any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

I'm sorry, I don't understand yet, lostsouldier. You're living in conditions of involuntary celibacy, and that makes you anxious, somehow. What is it you're afraid of, exactly? That being celibate might damage you somehow? That you might not be able to restrain yourself around women? I know you probably didn't explain more because it's difficult, but I still don't understand, and I'm trying.