Mental Support Community

Don't understand what's going on...

cyblue

i am taking lorazepam for the test-taking anxiety that i'm experiencing (all the time) because i have exams every week. i can get going eventually in the mornings but it does take a bit. crawling out of bed and dragging my butt to work or to campus for exams (i'm an online student so that helps a lot with the social anxiety) seems like all i can do. i don't feel depressed or anything...literally, anything. i have lost my appetite. its like i'm just going through the motions and trying to keep up with everyone's expectations of me. today i was told that i look tired but my brain was so far behind that i couldn't reply to that comment. i know i'm getting sleep. Sooo...

any suggestions as to what could be going on?

oh, yeah, i am still taking all my other meds as prescribed.

Hi cyblue,

Test taking anxiety is very common and extremely frustrating, especially when you know the material but can't produce b/c of the anxiety.

My questions are why Lorazapam? Is it for anxiety or for insomnia? Also, which other meds are you on and what is the dosage? How long have you been on each med? Finally, what have you been diagnosed with?

This will help us figure out where to begin looking.

i have bipolar disorder.

Have been on Abilify and Wellbutrin since 2005 and the Lexapro and lorazepam were added at the beginning of this year. (this is my clearest recollection without looking into my notes on the subject)

Meds: Abilify 15 mg Wellbutrin XL 450 mg Lexapro 10 mg lorazepam .5 mg (as needed for anxiety) and lastly, Claritin D 12-Hr 2xdaily (they won't give me the 24 hr because of all the sudafed).

Cyblue,

This is quiet a med-mixturel with multiple interactions. For example, Lexapro can cause insomnia or the other side, drowsiness, and the Lorazapam is designed to cause sleepiness (and yet Abilify can also cause sleepiness).