Mental Support Community

Disgust at myself

LookingForHelp

Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum so please let me know if I'm being too explicit or breaking forum etiquette. Also I'm not sure how to go about getting this out, and find myself repeatedly typing/retyping sentences to try and make sense to myself.

Just in case it's useful, my background is I'm 22 from the UK and grew up in a 'normal' family with loving parents and a sister 2 years younger.

The problems first started when I was around 13/14 as I became more and more sexually aware, however always overweight and didn't have the normal 'growing-up' experiences with girls and sex until I was 18.

This used to keep me awake at night worrying and perhaps as a result I also started to have sleeping problems, with the most concerning being where I would have vivid dreams and wake up to find I was acting them out. I would wake up still a little dazed and thinking I was still dreaming until after a few minutes where I would come to my senses.

This problem almost pulled my life apart one night when my sister slept in my bed as she often did, being young and scared of the dark (and it was never anything other than that).

One night, I woke up to find myself touching her, and for a short time I did not realise what was happening. She woke up and quietly walked out.

We didn't speak for a long time even though we lived in the same house. I felt utterly ashamed, embarrassed, depressed, borderline suicidal, and felt I was plummeting to the depths of hell. Every day I expected her to tell my parents and my whole world would collapse. I permanently lived in fear that she told her friends and they knew my shameful secret. I didn't tell anyone and felt like a selfish coward protecting myself.

I understand this is nothing compared to how she must have felt, which added to the guilt and feeling of worthlessness.