Mental Support Community

I give up, i'll take them, which antidepressant have you had the most success with??

MissusT

I can't take the anxiety anymore, i'm going to GP tomorrow to try antidepressants, I've been avoiding them for over 10 years because i'm afraid i will become a totally different person on them, or become 'monged out'. I'm afraid they will make me feel sick, or put on loads of weight...

If you are taking them, which ones have worked the best for you? Would really appreciate your help....

The good news is that feeling sick on ADs, if it's going to happen generally doesn't last more than a few days. You can ask for one that won't make you put on weight. IF one makes you feel zoned out, you go back and ask for another. I've never felt like a totally different person, I've always (if they worked) felt more ME. I've probably tried about 25 over the last 27 years, but my depressions are difficult-to-treat. It's always benefits versus risks and side-effects, you need the one that gives you the least side-effects but has the best effects.

The bad news is that they can take about 4-6 weeks to make any difference and it needs an adequate trial. The other bad news is that what works for one person may not work for another since each person's neurochemistry is subtly different. So I could tell you what has worked for me and what hasn't but that may not work out for you and may put you off exactly the one which may be perfect for you.

ADs can be sorted into what works for most people, down to one that works for the least (but may work those who haven't had success with any other. The algorithm says try this one first, if it doesn't work, try this one next. Docs will start with what helps most people. If you're lucky (and many people are) you hit it on the first try, If not, the second and so forth. Statistically you're likely to hit it early.

When you find one that works, it's SO worth it. Best combined, if possible, with psychotherapy.

• 3 weeks later...