Mental Support Community

I don't understand

Tvjunky3

I'm new to this community. I don't understand why I have anxiety/depression. I have everything in my life. I have family that loves me unconditionally and my friends love me for me. I got into college, no one thought I would. I am now a sophomore. I have a learning disability, but I don't let it get the best of me. So I don't understand, why always feel this way. I have been anxious and depressed for many years, so I don't know any feeling in life. Can someone help me, i'm so confused.:(

Tvjunky3,

Depression and anxiety just happen sometimes; they aren't always caused by anything in particular. Some people are born more vulnerable to becoming depressed and anxious than others. And at other times, people can underestimate the amount of stress that they are under.

At any rate, it is maybe less important why you are feeling this way, and more important what you do about it so as to feel better. Can I ask what you have tried by way of treatment so as to help yourself feel better? Even stuff like exercise which you might not think can have a positive effect on your mood can help.

Mark

I wanted to offer you some empathy, which is the best I've got at the moment. I, too, have suffered for years from depression and anxiety. I don't know where it came from or why it progressed as it has. In therapy, I am learning a lot about the unrecognized sources that have been buried in my past. Things I thought I had "gotten over" and left in the past long ago. I once had a family who loved me, friends who loved me even more than my family, a good career and a future. My family has abandoned me, I have pushed most of my friends away with my apathy and isolation, I have lost my career and see no future ahead of me.