Mental Support Community

How much is support & how much is enabling?

mialin

Hi, I'm new to this online community and am trying to learn as much as possible about bipolar disorder. My sister who is diagnosed with it has been challenging to deal with. She's up, she's down. She's going to therapy and on meds. I'm hoping she'll join a support group because that tends to help share w/alike people.

HERE'S MY QUESTION: How do I offer support w/out being a doormat? I feel like I don't want to enable bad behavior but if I don't then I'm too blame for her spiral, in which she tells me so. I feel like every time I say "no" to her for even the smallest thing or don't comply to her wishes, then she starts in on one of her episodes and doesn't feel better until I say "yes"...She says "tough love" will only drive her to suicide. How do I deal w/this correctly?

Edited by mialin

• 4 weeks later...

Some parents often say that in order to instill values in their children, they must explain why their position on a particular matter is reasonable, insist that the child adopt a similar position, and make clear that they will not accept “no” for an answer. However, from personal experience, not accepting no for an answer leads to a great deal of drama. The countless times I disagreed and argued with my parents makes it difficult to recall many details, but the words everyone used were cruel and unreasonable. Yet, regardless of whether this strategy of raising children is right or wrong, I am impressed by the intensity of my parents' passion, and their commitment to values. If I had half of that passion I bet I could start flying like Superman.

During some of the drama, some boundaries were crossed. Family members utterred hurtful words that were never acted upon, and grudges were unreasonably kept for as long as possible. But, it is in that very mess where each member of the family learns to compromise with each other and themselves.